The Tinder dating application has been updated to allow users to block their phone contacts so they can use the application without interruptions. You can now avoid all your exes, friends, colleagues, relatives, and anyone else who might be awkward to meet with. People can now block their phone numbers on Tinder after the company announced it on Saturday.
As per The Verge report, users looking for a partner can access this feature within their settings, where they can select which contacts they want to block, meaning that they will not be able to see them, and vice versa. You can also upload your full contacts list to Tinder or add individuals. The dating app states that all contacts will not be stored, except for the ones they have blocked, and users have the option of unblocking or disconnecting contacts at any time.
Additionally, blocking contacts will not receive any notification. Due to the lack of easy ways to find out if an ex or someone the user does not wish to communicate further with has a Tinder account, this change was made as a preventative measure. Even if an individual is blocked from Tinder, their account may still appear if they switch to a new phone number.
Tinder began displaying a message asking, “Are you sure?” before sending potentially offensive messages earlier in May. The move was taken to reduce harassment on the online dating platform with the help of artificial intelligence (AI). It detects the harmful language and takes action before it occurs.
Prior to that, it made users answer a question: “Does this bother you?”.In case offensive language was detected in messages received, support will be provided. Instagram and YouTube offer a similar feature in which users are warned before posting offensive comments.